Wednesday, March 27, 2019

Thursday, May 28, 2020, 7:30 AM – 5:30 PM 

Shirley Ryan AbilityLab, 355 E Erie St, Chicago, IL

7:45 a.m.

Continental breakfast

8:15 a.m.

Chemistry of Life Processes Institute video

8:20 a.m.


Richard B. Silverman, PhD

Member, Chemistry of Life Processes Institute

Patrick G. Ryan/Aon Professor

Professor of Chemistry and Professor of Molecular Biosciences, Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences

8:25 a.m.

Opening Remarks:

Thomas V. O’Halloran, PhD (Moderator)

Founding Director, Chemistry of Life Processes Institute

Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor, Departments of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences

8:35 a.m.

Nathan Gianneschi, PhD

Member, Chemistry of Life Processes Institute

Jacob and Rosaline Cohn Professor of Chemistry, Material Science and Engineering, Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences

“A Scalable Platform for Enhanced Delivery and Efficacy of Diverse Therapeutic and Diagnostic Agents”

9:05 a.m.

Neil Kelleher, PhD

Member, Chemistry of Life Processes Institute                   

Faculty Director, Northwestern Proteomics

Walter and Mary Glass Professor of Molecular Biosciences and Professor of Chemistry, Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences; Professor of Medicine, Feinberg School of Medicine

“Innovations in Molecular Analysis: Biotherapeutics and Natural Products”

9:35 a.m.

Daniela Elena Matei, MD

Diana, Princess of Wales Professor of Cancer Research          Professor of Medicine (Hematology and Oncology) and Obstetrics and Gynecology, Feinberg School of Medicine


10:05 a.m.


10:30 a.m.

Elizabeth McNally, MD, PhD

Director, Center for Genetic Medicine                         

Elizabeth J. Ward Professor of Genetic Medicine; Professor of Medicine (Cardiology) and Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics

11:00 a.m.

Hao Zhang, PhD

Member, Chemistry of Life Processes Institute

Professor of Biomedical Engineering, McCormick School of Engineering


11:30 a.m.

Douglas E. Vaughan, MD

Member, Chemistry of Life Processes Institute

Chair, Department of Medicine; Irving S. Cutter Professor of Medicine; Professor of Medicine (Cardiology), Feinberg School of Medicine

“Targeting PAI-1: A Novel Approach to Delay the Multimorbidity of Aging”







Jay Olson, CFA

Research Analyst

Oppenheimer & Co.


Silvan Tuerkcan, PhD


Oppenheimer & Co.



Vanessa Bhark

Senior Associate

Frazier Healthcare Partners

Michael Margolis, R Ph

Managing Director

Oppenheimer & Co.



1:00 p.m.

Sujal A. Shah (McC’95 McC’97)

President and CEO

CymaBay Therapeutics (CBAY)

1:30 p.m.

 Andrew Chan, MD, PHD (WCAS’80)

Senior Vice President, Research Biology

Genentech (RHHBY)

2:00 p.m.

Tassos E. Gianakakos (TGS’96)

Chief Executive Officer

MyoKardia (MYOK)

2:30 p.m.


3:00 p.m.

Brian Bernick, M.D., F.A.C.O.G. (WCAS ’91)

Co-Founder and Director

TherapeuticsMD (TXMD)

3:30 p.m.

Ankit Mahadevia, MD (WCAS’01)

President and CEO

Spero Therapeutics (SPRO)

4:00 p.m.

Chandler D. Robinson, MD (WCAS’06)

Co-Founder and CEO,

Monopar Therapeutics

4;30 p.m.


5:30 p.m.




Agenda is subject to change.